Known as “One of the Most Haunted Locations in the Mid-West”, the Haunted Castle House was featured on the Travel Channel’s hit show Dead Files episode titled: Night Terrors, Brumley, MO (Season 11, Episode 2).
The Haunted Castle House has a unique, at times terrifying historic past. Amy Allan of Dead Files referred to it as a “Pit Stop for the dead.” Not only is there a pioneer graveyard, and mass grave behind the house, after ground-penetrating radar was completed just months ago, it is believed that a Civil War camp is also on the property.
Our guests were a part of our live show Into the Dark with Riverside Iowa Paranormal on the Spirit Realm Network with guest host/investigator Aaron G. Thompson of Ghost Talk
Riverside Iowa Paranormal had the honor of having the first ever public Paranormal Investigation Event at this incredible location in Nauvoo, Illinois.
In addition to the farm only being owned by two families, the land itself has quite a unique history. There are at least two confirmed Indian Mounds on the property, bringing a lot of Native American activity. It also has ties to the War of 1812, as the property contains the direct path the troops took during the war & is where troops slept. The stagecoach route also went through the middle of the property. There is a natural mineral spring on the property "Mormon Springs" which is a warm spring that Chief Blackhawk is believed to visit before going into any battle.
John McInteer built this beautiful villa in 1889/1890 for his wife Alice. In addition to being a private residence, it was also a boarding house for 25 years.
Events at the Villa never disappoint and are always full of activity.
Guest at our Granger House event were the first group of guest to ever appear live on Into the Dark with Riverside Iowa Paranormal on the Spirit Realm Network. We were fortunate enough to have this event prior to the Iowa hurricane storm of August-2020 that caused a lot of damage to this treasured haunted location.
The Granger House, built in 1860 by Charles Myers, is the only restored middle class home in the Cedar Rapids area. Even more unique is that it still contains many of the original furnishings.
Earl Granger purchased the house in 1876. In 1879 Earl built the carriage house, which is the only one of its kind in the Midwest. A year later he built an add on to the main house. The house ultimately remained in his family until 1973.
On June 13th, we investigated the dark corridors of one of Rock Island's most haunted locations-The Rock Island Y.M.C.A. After the first Y.M.C.A burned to the ground and was eventually demolished, a new Y.M.C.A was built in 1911 during some of the darkest times in Rock Island's history.
In addition to being a Speakeasy and Brothel, as the Y.M.C.A. the building was the center of the Rock Island community for the following:
•Housing Travelers passing through
•A stop for Railroad Workers
•Men needing a place to stay
•War time soldiers: Soldiers would stay
for free if they showed up in their
The Edinburgh Manor building was built in 1911. It housed people of all ages with chronic mental illnesses. Before this building was the Jones County Poor Farm building that was there 1850-1910. Records show that 150+ people died during that time.
At this investigation we tried a new experiment. We held a birthday party for residents. We had a lot of positive responses over Necrophonics. Spirits Sang Happy Birthday, responded "I Do" when asked who wants cake, other spirits even indicated they had food allergies.
Why investigate the Rock Island Y.M.C.A? Not only was it a brothel and speakeasy. When the building opperated as a Y.M.C.A. it drew a lot of attention with youth programs, housing travelers passing through, it was a stop for railroad workers, housed men needing a place to stay. And during War Time soldiers would stay for free if they showed up in uniform.
This building has a rich history and is always full of activity.
The Tippecanoe Battlefield Park preserves the location of the Battle of Tippecanoe fought on November 7, 1811. The 16-acre site of the battle was deeded to the State of Indiana by John Tipton, a veteran of the fight, on November 7, 1836, the twenty-fifth anniversary of the battle.
The Riverside Iowa Paranormal Team investigated the site on a snowy day in January-2020. We had a lot of EVP responses and responses on Necrophonics. We also got activity when playing Native American Drum Music.
Copyright © 2019 Riverside Iowa Paranormal - All Rights